DEVELOPINGEvidence, uncertainty and context
technology · DEVELOPING

iPhone Duo preorders open as delivery estimates slip into 2027

Apple’s first foldable iPhone is now available to preorder in the U.S. from $1,999. Apple still lists an October 23 launch, but some online delivery estimates moved into January 2027 shortly after orders opened.

Published Updated
Editorial visualization of the foldable Apple iPhone Duo shown open and closed
iPhone Duo preorders are now open


Apple opened U.S. preorders for the iPhone Duo on October 16 at 5 a.m. Pacific time, marking the first time customers can order the company’s first foldable iPhone.

The device starts at $1,999 in the United States for the 256GB model and is scheduled to become generally available on October 23. Apple is offering four storage capacities — 256GB, 512GB, 1TB and 2TB — and two finishes, Star White and Night Sky.

But the first hours of preorders have produced a second development: some customers are seeing delivery estimates move well beyond launch day.

The Verge reported that estimated delivery dates for some configurations had slipped to late January 2027 roughly an hour after preorders opened. That does not by itself establish how many units Apple has sold, because long delivery times can reflect high demand, constrained initial supply, or a combination of both.

What Apple has confirmed

The iPhone Duo is Apple’s first foldable iPhone and uses a book-style design with two displays.

The inner folding OLED display measures 7.6 inches, while the exterior display measures 5.4 inches. Both are Super Retina XDR panels with adaptive ProMotion refresh rates of up to 120Hz. Apple lists a titanium folding structure, IP68 water and dust resistance and Ceramic Shield protection.

The phone is powered by Apple’s A20 Pro chip and uses a dual-battery architecture. Apple’s specifications list a weight of 254 grams and a thickness of 5.2mm when open and 11.3mm when folded.

Its camera system includes a 48-megapixel main camera and a 48-megapixel ultra-wide camera. Unlike Apple’s current Pro models, the Duo does not include a dedicated telephoto camera, instead offering a 2x optical-quality crop from the main sensor.

Apple also confirms Touch ID in the side button rather than Face ID and support for the USB-C Apple Pencil.

Why the delivery delays matter

The iPhone Duo represents Apple’s entry into a foldable-phone category in which Samsung, Google and other manufacturers have already released multiple generations of devices.

That makes the launch particularly useful as an early indication of how Apple’s customer base responds to a foldable iPhone carrying a starting price close to $2,000.

Early delivery delays are notable, but they should not yet be treated as proof of extraordinary sales.

Apple has not publicly disclosed preorder volumes, available launch inventory or the number of units allocated to individual configurations. A delivery estimate moving into January can therefore show that available inventory for a particular configuration has been exhausted without revealing the absolute level of demand.

Barron’s reported similarly extended delivery windows and said analysts were interpreting the delays as a potentially positive early demand signal, while noting that supply levels remain an important unknown.

What remains uncertain

Three questions cannot yet be answered from the preorder data available publicly.

First, it is not known how many iPhone Duo units Apple made available for launch.

Second, delivery estimates can vary by storage capacity, color, location and purchase channel, so a January date should not be interpreted as applying universally to every customer.

Third, preorder activity does not tell us whether demand will remain strong after the initial group of early adopters has placed orders.

For those reasons, News Currently is treating the launch as developing, rather than describing the initial delays as evidence that the device has definitively sold out or become a commercial success.

What buyers should know

Apple continues to list October 23 as the official availability date for the iPhone Duo.

Customers may therefore encounter different availability depending on whether they order online, use a carrier or attempt to buy or collect a device from a physical store.

The starting price in the United States remains $1,999, with higher-capacity configurations costing more.

For buyers considering the first-generation device, its foldable design also introduces questions that cannot be resolved from specifications alone, including long-term hinge durability, real-world battery behavior, application optimization and how the folding display performs after extended use.

Those questions will require independent testing after retail units become widely available.

Why it matters

Apple rarely enters a hardware category this late in its development.

The iPhone Duo therefore matters beyond a single product launch. Its sales, reliability and software experience could influence how quickly foldable phones move from a premium niche toward the mainstream smartphone market.

For now, one thing is clear: Apple has opened orders for its first foldable iPhone, and the earliest online availability is already tightening.

What remains unclear is whether that reflects exceptional demand, deliberately limited launch inventory — or both.
07 · Provenance

Sources and update log

Apple Newsroom — Open up to new possibilities with iPhone Duo ↗
Official company source · Published · Accessed
Evidence note: Primary source confirming the October 16 preorder opening, Apple’s stated product features and the official preorder process. Apple is the manufacturer and therefore authoritative for its own specifications and schedule, but its marketing claims are not independent product testing.
Apple Newsroom — Apple unveils iPhone Duo ↗
Official company source · Published · Accessed
Evidence note: Primary source supporting the U.S. starting price of $1,999, storage options, colors and October 23 availability. Does not provide independent evidence of market demand.
Apple — iPhone Duo Technical Specifications ↗
Official technical specification · Published · Accessed
Evidence note: Primary technical source supporting display sizes, dimensions, weight, A20 Pro processor, camera configuration, Touch ID, battery claims and other hardware specifications. Manufacturer specifications have not been independently validated here.

Update log

Initial publication. Apple opened iPhone Duo preorders on October 16. This briefing confirms pricing, launch timing and specifications from Apple and documents independent reports that some online delivery estimates moved into January 2027. No claim is made about total preorder volume because Apple has not disclosed launch inventory or sales figures. Source ↗